
Section A - Definitions and Fundamentals 

MR CALL A4 

Definitions Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap and Keep Clear 

Questions 

When the spinnaker is not set, is a spinnaker pole in ‘normal position’ 

(i) when one end is attached to the mast and the other end is projecting beyond the 

bow, or 

(ii)  in the case of an extendable bowsprit-type pole, it is not retracted as fully as it 

can be 

(a) when the spinnaker is, or is being, set up approaching or passing a mark? 

(b) when hoisting or lowering the spinnaker? 

(c) when beating to windward? 

(d)  during pre-start manoeuvres? 

Answers 

The general test when addressing these questions is ‘Is this how the boat would 

normally be sailed, in the absence of other boats?’ This leads to the following more 

specific answers: 

(a) and (b), for both (i) and (ii): 

Yes, if it is the regular practice for the pole to be in that position in the 

circumstances and the umpires are not of the opinion that the pole had been set 

up prematurely, or left in position too long, for the purpose of obtaining a tactical 

advantage (such as the establishment of an artificial overlap). 

(c) and (d), for (i); 

Yes, if it is the regular practice for that boat to carry her spinnaker pole in that 

position. It would not be regular practice if, for example, a boat had her spinnaker 

pole projecting during pre-start manoeuvres but then removed it for starting, or 

started without the pole projecting then later changed its position so that it was 

then projecting. 

(c) and (d), for (ii): No. 

  




